View a recording of Panel 1 here.
View a recording of Panel 2 here.

Panel 1: February 17, 2021
4:00 pm GMT, 11:00 am EST
[Event has concluded] Event Sign Up:

In memory of the victims of the Ngarbuh Massacre – one year on 

The conflict in Anglophone Cameroon has been the most neglected humanitarian crisis in the  world for two consecutive years (Norwegian Refugee Council 2019, 2020). In recognition of  the levels of violence, the US Senate has unanimously passed Resolution 684 (S. Res. 684). In  the Resolution, the US Senate calls for an end to all violence, respect for the human rights of  all Cameroonians, and the pursuit of a genuinely inclusive dialogue with a credible third party  toward resolving the ongoing civil conflict in Anglophone Cameroon. 

We invite you to join us to discuss the implications of S. Res. 684 and next steps the  international community should take to resolve the root causes of the conflict and secure the  restoration of peace.  

Panel 1: February 17, 2021  

4:00 pm GMT, 11:00 am EST 

Speakers include: 

1. Angela Quintal: Committee to Protect Journalists, Africa Program Coordinator, New  York 

2. The Rt. Hon. The Lord Boateng: British House of Lord 

3. Prof. Hannah Garry: Founding Director Gould International Human Rights Clinic,  University of Southern California 

4. Dr. Roxana Willis: Principal Investigator of the Cameroon Conflict Research Group,  lecturer in Criminal Law, University of Oxford 

5. Hon. Dr. Christoph Hoffmann: MP Bundestag (Chair Central Africa Group) Berlin

6. Dr. Chris Fomunyoh: Senior Associate for Africa and Regional Director at the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs, Washington DC 

Panel 2: February 19, 2021 

4:00pm GMT, 11:00am EST 

Speakers include: 

1. Mooya Nyaundi: Senior staff attorney for Sub-Saharan Africa, Justice Defenders  

Program, American Bar Association 

2. Kyra Fox: Research Assistant, Simon-Skjodt Center for the Prevention of Genocide,  United States Holocaust Memorial Museum 

3. Rt. Hon. Emily Thornberry: MP Islington South and Finsbury, British Parliament 

4. Congressman Chris Smith – TBC 

5. Prof. Frans Viljoen: Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria 

6. Hon. Dr. Sebastien Nadot: MP French Parliament (Foreign Affairs Committee), Paris, France

7. Nicholas Maisel & Morgan Smith: Gould International Human Rights Clinic, University of Southern California